What Of This Destiny (repost)

 

Yesterday’s message from the Runes really inspired and motivated me. It also sent me searching in old blogs for this post…that I wrote over a year ago. As I wrote the blog yesterday, words from this one came to mind…and I was called to repost it and share it again. May it speak to you and inspire you as well. Blessings!

_____

“There’s nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be.”  ~ John Lennon

“There are winds of destiny that blow when we least expect them. Sometimes they gust with the fury of a hurricane, sometimes they barely fan one’s cheek. But the winds cannot be denied, bringing as they often do a future that is impossible to ignore.”  ~ Nicholas Sparks

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.”  ~ Alice Sebold

“What we call our destiny is truly our character and that character can be altered. The knowledge that we are responsible for our actions and attitudes does not need to be discouraging, because it also means that we are free to change this destiny.”  ~ Anais Nin

“That which we manifest is before us; we are the creators of our own destiny. Be it through intention or ignorance, our successes and our failures have been brought on by none other than ourselves.”  ~ Garth Stein

“Your soul knows the geography of your Destiny. Your soul alone has the map of your future, therefore you can trust this indirect, oblique side of yourself. If you do, it will take you where you need to go, but more important it will teach you a kind of rhythm in your journey.”  ~ John O’Donohue

“Even if things don’t unfold the way you expected, don’t be disheartened or give up. One who continues to advance will win in the end.”  ~ Daisaku Ikeda

***“Almost nothing important that ever happens to you happens because you engineer it. Destiny has no beeper; destiny always leans trenchcoated out of an alley with some sort of ‘psst’ that you usually can’t even hear because you’re in such a rush to or from something important you’ve tried to engineer. ”  ~ David Foster Wallace

“I have always believed, and I still believe, that whatever good or bad fortune may come our way we can always give it meaning and transform it into something of value.” ~ Hermann Hesse

“It is better to live your own destiny imperfectly than to live an imitation of somebody else’s life with perfection.”  ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

Destiny 1

from The Desk of MarDrag:

What is this thing called Destiny? We hear of it often and we are all supposed to have one. Some of us feel we know what our Destiny is, while some are not aware of where their life will take them yet, while even further, some would deny their Destiny or ignore it for many different reasons. But, we are all on some level between knowing, not knowing, and ignoring.

So let us look at the definition of Destiny, as the dictionaries, books and scholars would define it:

1)      the events that will necessarily happen to a particular person or thing in the future; a predetermined course of events often held to be an irresistible power or agency; something beyond human power or control; the inevitable or necessary fate to which a particular person or thing is destined; one’s lot;

2)      the hidden power believed to control what will happen in the future; fate; the power or agency thought to predetermine events

So, from these definitions, we can gather that there is “something”…be it God, Higher Powers, the Universe, Soul Energy…whatever you might wish to define it as…that has a strong hand on how our lives move, how the events in our life turn out and the road that our life path takes. That there is a power, greater than we are, that has a plan for us, and that there is a Higher Purpose for each of us to aspire to live up to and live by. And that there is a reason why each and every one of us was put here, and if we want to live full and happy lives, we should strive to find that purpose and meet it.

I will admit I do believe this sentiment. I lived a great deal of my younger life trying to fit into a place that I did not belong. I thought I was supposed to be a certain person, do a certain job, make a certain amount of money, have a certain amount of things…and then I would live “happily ever after”. Except…I was miserable. I tried to make it work but I knew there was something wrong with what I was doing, and I did not know what or how to fix it.

But, if I were to be completely honest with you…very deep down within the center of my being, I knew something. I kept it hidden and did not let it out very often. I was, by all standards, successful, so what would I leave all that for to do something completely different? And how could I possibly complain or say I was not happy with my life? Then, events happened, an illness, and a long dark time, a “dark night of the Soul”, that was part of my Destiny to experience, because when I emerged from that tunnel, my life was changed.

Destiny 2

You see, deep within me was this flame…this tiny source of Light that I had known was always there but thought I couldn’t let out. I thought I was doing the right thing with the job, etc…everyone told me I was. But, it ultimately didn’t work for me. And when I was in that deep dark cavern and looking for a light to show me a way out…guess where I found it? Yes, within myself. That little spark that never left me, that burned low, and stayed with me until I could gather the wisdom and the strength to fan it into a fire…and that fire…was my Destiny. The winds of Destiny blew within me and I let them rage, and let that fire flame high into a great blaze and it warmed me and motivated me and set me on the path that changed my life forever. And here I am today, doing what I was meant to do with my life. Living my Destiny. Fulfilling what I always knew my purpose for living was…but was too afraid  or distracted by “shoulds” to find out. It may have taken me some time and hard work and lots of mis-takes, but I made it here.

Destiny 3

Our Souls always know and have the maps for us to follow. But we often have to change some things about ourselves before we can read the map. There is practical work within us and in the world to be done to find our way. If we ask for guidance and answers…at the very right moment…they will come. That is part of our Destiny. Each step we take, each thought we have, every move we make…leads us to where we are meant to be, if we choose to look at it that way and give meaning to every step we take. But we must become conscious of those movements to capture their true meaning and embrace their messages. Then, with living our Destiny there comes a certain peace that we are living our true lives. And the struggles and difficulties take on a new purpose.

Destiny 4

I have a saying that came from the tunnel: “I mean to live my true life, and I embrace the means by which that will happen”.

If you are unhappy in your life, if you question the road or path that you are on, if you have a small spark within you that keeps flickering to get your attention…ask for guidance, and then follow the wisdom that voice gives you. It will not always be an easy or smooth road, especially if the life change is drastic, as it was for me. Oh, but I can share with you, that it was all well worth it.

Destiny 5

I share this story with you because I do believe we all have a Destiny, a reason for being here that fits just right for each of us, a special purpose that only each of us can fill in our own particular way, and I would wish for you that you would know that all you are going through can be the stepping stones as part of that Destiny, to carry you to the knowledge of that purpose. I wish for you to find yours…and then truly, live happily ever after!

Blessings!

4 comments on “What Of This Destiny (repost)

  1. I am so glad you had a “fulfilled” life, but even more glad that you follow your destiny to get to the real fulfilled life. The one you wanted and makes you happy, not the one you thought you were supposed to have. I am also glad that that destiny broight you to write to us annd help us on our path to a fulfilled life, the life we hope to get to 🙂
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

