Change and A Poem

 

I have been talking to so many people this week…friends, family and clients…who all have Changes occurring in their lives. Some are welcome, some unexpected, and some (seemingly) negative. I have been writing on the blog here about Change a great deal lately, as it seems to be making itself known in many ways.

Now, I do not usually talk a lot about myself on a personal level…but it occurred to me to share something with you all on the topic of Change. Some while ago, I went through major change in my life too…a tunnel of Change that, while in the middle of it, was difficult and seemed like it would never end. I did not know how my life would look when I came out of that tunnel…but it lead me to exactly where I am supposed to be. Which is living my Life’s Purpose and following my Destiny. If you had asked me years ago if this is where I would end up, I would not have known it. So, everything I went through was perfect in that it lead me here.

I am a poet, and so wish to share a poem that I wrote about this Change…in hopes that it will touch one or any of you who are experiencing the same and do not know yet where it will lead. It is about being stripped bare by Change, being vulnerable, searching for an answer, and finding one in an unlikely place. I hope you enjoy it and that it helps you “see” the possibilities of what is to come. Blessings!

THE NEW DRESS

So many people about

Bodies everywhere

In close confines, no air

And garments hung from racks

So many colors

Weaves and textures

Heat and aromas

Seethe the senses

Standing among it all

Trying

To absorb

And to find my place

To find my clothes

That have gone missing

My clothes, my clothes

Where are my clothes?

I search the racks

For my black skirt

I must find my black skirt

For without it I am not myself

I ask

But answers are not known

And do not come

Still I search

Oft frantically

Certain I had seen

My black skirt

So close by

And then

To my dismay

I look down at myself

To see in deep remorse

That I am naked

Naked to the bone

Exposed for all to see

And mortified at that

So hastily I reach

To clutch a garment

So close my hand can touch

I throw it over my head

Just to cover myself

And top it with a coat at that

For good measure

I am concealed now

But without comfort

Of my usual clothes

My black skirt, I lament

Until I pass

A looking glass

And at a glance

I peer within

From my eye’s corner

What ho!

I exclaim

As I turn about

Direct

To step closer

To look closer

What reflection is this

That I barely recognize

Within this sparkling glass

Who, I see

Looking back at me

Appears to be

A version Changed of me

I regard her

As I shrug the coat

From my shoulders

To see what lies beneath

And oh! What I see!

The Dress, the Dress

Draped about me

Deepest black in color

Muted satin

With velvet corset

Silver eyelets laced

And cinched

Around a pearly bosom

The tiniest gasp

Escapes my lips

As the coat cascades

Down my arms and off

Revealing delicate

Finely knitted lace

Sleeves caressing

The arms of this

New being

I gaze at the apparition

Before me

In surprise

At the beauty that I see

Is it really me?

And the Dress! the Dress!

How lovely is it

That I think

To myself

What loss is there

What need have I now

For that black skirt

Gone missing

And not found

For this Dress, this Dress

Fit me it does

I see

More perfect

Than I thought of me

15 comments on “Change and A Poem

  1. Beautiful as the person who wrote it sweet friend ((HOGS AND SNOUT KISSES))
    Check out my blog when you get a chance. I left you something there 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

  2. Thanks for sharing Mar. To tell us about yourself you remind us that we all go through changes. We all do and multiple times. I have had time to think lately, and i have thought of some of my changes. I thought of how bad things where and in need of a change, but how scared i was to take a step to change it. Then how wonderful it felt to get out of the situation, and how things improved. Them there are also those changes in our lives that happen to us, the ones we have no control of. Then we need to adjust to them right away, and we struggled. While i have thought of this, i came to a conclusion and agreement that life goes on, and it all turns out to be for the better. If it isn’t for the better, or made a mistake, is ok because we can do something to change it again 🙂

Leave a Reply

