The Art of Attitude

 

“The greater part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.”  ~ Martha Washington

“We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.”  ~ Abraham Lincoln

“Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.”  ~ Winston Churchill

“If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment.”  ~ Marcus Aurelius

“Look on every exit as being an entrance somewhere else.”  ~ Tom Stoppard

“We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it. And so it is with you… we are in charge of our Attitudes.”  ~ Charles R. Swindoll

Attitude 1

from the Desk of MarDrag:

Attitude…it is that thing we have to face when we wake and look in the mirror to begin every day. It is also the one thing we can struggle with so much. Having been an English/Literature major, and being a writer, and a wordsmith…I often enjoy taking to my trusty, dusty, yet revered Oxford American Dictionary…yes in hard cover…that still occupies an exalted place on my desk, to look up the definition of a word I want to write about. Let us see what it has to say about Attitude:

Definition of Attitude:

  1. A settled way of thinking or feeling, typically reflected in a person’s behavior.
  2. A state of mind or a feeling; disposition
  3. A position of the body or manner of carrying oneself
  4. Phonetic pronunciation: [at-i-tood, -tyood]

I find this to be a rather anemic definition of a word that renders such Power…in its carrier, and its receiver. I guess I had the “Attitude” that there would be much more profound words to describe it. The thing I loved the most was the phonetic pronunciation. It made me giggle…and I will likely refer to my Attitude going forward as my “Ati-tood”! THAT should help to lighten a tough one, won’t it?

Attitude 2

But, in all seriousness, there are so many variables that influence what our Attitude will be. Or so we think! In truth though, the last quote above really says it all…we can not count on being able to change people, places, things, words, attitudes…and all that goes on around us…we can only change or adjust or consider HOW we will react to it. IF it is in our Power to change something, and it is right to do so, then we should strive to take action. But…if we are faced with circumstances that we cannot change…we are still not without Power…because we can still have command over our actions, thoughts and reactions to those circumstances…and THAT makes all the difference to our quality of life.

Attitude 4

I will share a secret with you now! Way back…all those years ago before I started my spiritual journey to my true self…I was a very angry person. I had endured a lot in my life for a young person. And I, admittedly, had a bad Attitude. My life was hard and I resented it. I sought therapy, but was told in order to find happiness I would have to change from within, and then things around me would change. I said Pffft…it was everything around me that needed to change…and then I would be happy. It took awhile…but I did learn I had it backward. And that, in fact, I had no real right to ask everything else around me to change…because it was what it was for a reason…and it had its own “life”.

I learned my “Real Power” was in changing how I dealt with all those things. And that I could take my Power back from them to feel better. In being angry all the time, or fighting/hating circumstances…I gave up my Power to them and they gained control over me. And my Attitude swelled into anger over that. But what I discovered when I started to take command of myself and chose NOT to be bothered by circumstances and let go of negative self-talk…was the thrill of experiencing a profoundly Empowered Self. How badass is it to stare into the face of a rotten circumstance and say…”I will not let you affect my great and happy Attitude”? THAT is pure and lovely Power!

Attitude 6

To Bless and Love the toughest circumstances and know they are there for the benefit of our growth and learning…is the greatest Power of all. (Tongue firmly in cheek)…So, when I (for the umpteenth time) have to call the cable company I dropped a year ago, in favor of a better one, who just today sent me yet another copy of a bill I already paid demanding payment…I will tell them, with all the Love in my heart, what a shoddy account department they have and would they kindly take this out of their system and never contact me again. I will likely get a nice helpful response, which I would not get if I yelled at them about how inept they are. See…it’s all in the Attitude!

Attitude 5

Blessings!

2 comments on “The Art of Attitude

  1. I love how you weave such wisdom into everyday life. As someone who did customer service, I have always tried to be nice to the person on the other end, because I know what it is like. Note, I said try. I hate when I get someone who hardly speaks English, not being a bigot, but communication is a big part of the job and the they says there is nothing I can do. There is ALWAYS something you can do. I love your attitude.
    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

