Pushing The River

 

“Impatience can cause wise people to do foolish things.”  ~ Janette Oke

“What you’re missing is that the path itself changes you.”  ~ Julien Smith

“What good has impatience ever brought? It has only served as the mother of mistakes and the father of irritation.”  ~ Steve Maraboli

“Man prays, ‘I want a cookie right now!’ And God responds, ‘If you’d listen to what I say, tomorrow it will bring you 100 cookies.”  ~ Criss Jami

“When we get impatient because something is taking too long, we should remember that Life waits on us a thousand times more than we wait on Life.”  ~ Laura Theresa Marquez

from the Desk of MarDrag:

Life is moving quickly, and the faster it moves, the more impatient we get to make it to the next step, the next plateau, the next level of our lives. Or, we sunk in sorrow, and we are impatient for it to leave us and allow us to find our place in the light and feel happiness again. No matter where we are at in life, we are always looking for, and waiting impatiently for, “the next thing”.

I am sure we have all heard, at one time or another, the phrase “don’t push the river”. I heard that many times in my past as I was a rather impatient person. I thought I had places to go, people to see and things to do….and I wanted it all to happen in the time frame that I wanted, whether it was good for me or not. A few times, I tripped into the future far before I was ready for it, and it caused me difficulty. So, I slowed down, and learned.

If you think about a river, flowing effortlessly down its path, it does not force its waters to move. It flows naturally. There are pebbles in its path, but it trickles over them and adjusts its flow to move smoother. Occasionally, it finds debris in its path causing an obstacle to its flow, but it slowly allows its waters to dribble around the debris until it flecks it away bit by bit and the obstruction floats away. And its waters can flow freely again. If the heat comes, and its waters dry up a bit, it flows on until the rains come and replenish it so it can flow at full force again. The river marches on through all the seasons, adapting and changing, shifting and altering where it needs to, and when it needs to, in order to flow at its best. And it does it all by listening to the song of its own voice, and following the natural movement of life, of its own particular nature, its own river bed, its own path that it has carved out in the landscape.

And along its way, it notices that, on its banks there is fresh green grass, lovely flowers blooming, powerful trees for shade, and sometimes people sitting on its there enjoying its beauty. And it finds joy in all of these things.

But one thing it does not do, is push itself. The river, in its unique understanding, flows at the pace that its nature dictates….and it misses nothing. It embraces every aspect of its life and allows it to work in its own infinite wisdom while recognizing when it needs to twist or turn or trickle or rush.

River

If you are impatiently waiting for your life to move, or for something to happen….slow down for a moment and be like the river…..allow what is meant to happen to flow into and through your life. Trying to make things happen too fast, or force a situation, can bring obstacles you don’t anticipate, and then you have new problems. Or you may miss a step, or something that tells you to take a different turn, and you leave behind a possibility you may have wanted, but could not see because you pushed past it. Listen to your own natural voice of wisdom, whispering like the trickle of the river, and follow the sound, it will always lead you in the right direction.

And most importantly, you then will not miss the joy and beauty to be seen on the banks of your life where the green grass grows and the flowers bloom.

Blessings!

4 comments on “Pushing The River

  1. Oh yes, patience…we must have patience. Then, when we think we had enough, we should me even more patience. At least with the things that are out of our control.

    Thanks MarDrag. I feel like using this with friends and people at work, mostly people at work. We all are doing our job, and we get changes and twists. I keep myself “centered” and focused on my job, but some moments i need to remind myself and practice those tools you thought me to keep calm not only on the outside but in the inside. Patience has been my friend.

  2. I’m a day late….

    Great blog Mardrag! I admit that I can be impatient, or rather that I used to be VERY impatient. But there are times I still want to push things. I am getting better at staying in the moment.
    I had a close friend that pushed everything, and I mean everything. She just couldn’t sit still. To make matters worse, she would plan a lot of stuff and never finish any of them. It drove me nuts! I would kindly tell her that she has a lovely life, or that she should enjoy what she has – but it would go right over her head. I am no longer friends with her for several reasons, and I do not miss listening to her complain. At.All. I think I finally realized that the friendship was a bit on the toxic side.

    Thanks for this blog!

Leave a Reply

