The Act of Inspiration

 

“The good life is one inspired by love and guided by knowledge.”  ~ Bertrand Russell

“Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.”  ~ Helen Keller

“One can be instructed in society, one is inspired only in solitude.”  ~ Goethe

“When I am inspired, I get excited because I can’t wait to see what I come up with next.”  ~ Dolly Parton

“Love is the attempt to form a friendship inspired by beauty.”  ~ Cicero

“Only when inspired to go beyond consciousness by some extraordinary insight does beauty manifest unexpectedly.”  ~ Arthur Erickson

“Enthusiasm is excitement with inspiration, motivation, and a pinch of creativity.”  ~ Bo Bennett

“There are no failures, just experiences and your reactions to them.”  ~ Tom Krause

Inspire 1

from the Desk of MarDrag:

Someone recently asked me how I choose the topics of the posts that I write for this blog. My answer was….by Inspiration. Upon being questioned further, I explained that while I am inspired to put pen to paper by conversations with people, by comments on the blog that some of you make, or addressing issues that are brought up….my main source of motivation is truly….Inspiration. And I get that by going quiet and asking for it.

I do sit down in front of my computer, close my eyes, and allow my thoughts to go very quiet. Then I say a bit of a prayer, and ask what is it that I should write about today. What is it that people need to hear today. What is the most important message I can give today. And I always get an answer. I might have an idea already taking form, so sometimes that idea builds and develops….but sometimes, a message comes about an entirely different subject, and I compose the post from that Inspiration.

I share this with you because…..I wish for all of you…..Inspiration in your life. That wonderful feeling when you get a little rush of an idea and it makes your whole mind and body tingle, and you think, “well where did that come from?”, but you like it!

My trusty dusty dictionary tells me the definition of Inspiration is thus: “the action or power of moving intellect or emotions; the act of influencing or suggesting opinions; the act of drawing in; a divine influence or action; the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something; the quality of having been so stimulated”

In this fast moving, crazy, worrisome world that we live in, it is sometimes difficult to be Inspired to do or think anything else other than what we need to tackle on a daily basis. We are tired, overwhelmed and overdone….and some are leaden with anxiety and depression…and are not motivated to be Inspired about anything.

But, this post is written to encourage you to remember that life does need Inspiration and that the most wonderful things you think, feel and do come from Inspiration. It is a source of delight and adds a lightness to our lives. There is a certain thrill of pleasure when Inspiration comes down on us and we see something is possible that was not there before. And, if we really look close, Inspiration is all around us in so many forms.

Inspire 3

In the definition above, one of the things that struck me the most is how often the word “action” was repeated in describing Inspiration. So, if you need a little Inspiration in your life….take the “action” of going quiet and asking for it. All you need is a few moments to quiet your thoughts and ask for a bit of Inspiration to add to your day. Is there something to be had that will give you pleasure today within that Inspiration. Whatever you are Inspired to do….do it.

And remember too, that acting on your Inspiration will most definitely Inspire others to do the same. Be a source of Inspiration to others and you will so be Inspired yourself!

I THANK YOU ALL, FROM THE BOTTOM OF HEART, FOR BEING MY INSPIRATION EVERY DAY!!    I LOVE YOU ALL!!

Inspire 4

Blessings!

17 comments on “The Act of Inspiration

  1. MarDrag-I hope you know what an inspiration you are. You are so calm and peaceful and so true. I feel inspired every time I come here-to do better and be better. Thank you thank you a million times!!

    • I’m good Jill! How are you doing?? Hope things are well.

      I know whatcha mean about having to practice ‘going quiet’. It’s not as easy as I thought! It truly does take practice. Mardrag has taught me a thing or two about it.

      I agree, AND I thought of the SAME word…GEM! Mardrag is a gem – no doubt about it!

  2. Hi every body, i keep doing this – i keep going to the old blog to see if there are any new comments. I don’t think to go to the right side to see if there is a new blog.

Leave a Reply

