A Vulnerable Self

 

“When we were children, we used to think that when we were grown-up we would no longer be vulnerable. But to grow up is to accept vulnerability. To be alive is to be vulnerable.”  ~ Madeleine L’Engle

“To share your weakness is to make yourself vulnerable; to make yourself vulnerable is to show your strength.”  ~ Criss Jami

“The strongest love is the love that can demonstrate its fragility.”  ~ Paulo Coehlo

***“Owning our story can be hard but not nearly as difficult as spending our lives running from it. Embracing our vulnerabilities is risky but not nearly as dangerous as giving up on love and belonging and joy—the experiences that make us the most vulnerable. Only when we are brave enough to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of our light.” ~ Brene Brown

“I am stronger than words and I am bigger than the box I’m in.”  ~ David Levithan

“We’re never so vulnerable than when we trust someone – but paradoxically, if we cannot trust, neither can we find love or joy.” ~ Frank Crane

“And that visibility which makes us most vulnerable is that which also is the source of our greatest strength.”  ~ Audre Lorde

“Human beings, whatever their backgrounds, are more open than we think, that their behavior cannot be confidently predicted from their past, that we are all creatures vulnerable to new thoughts, new attitudes.”  ~ Howard Zinn

“We are all vulnerable but do not fear this, just revel in the chance to experience that and know and grow beyond.”  ~ Jay Woodman

from the Desk of MarDrag:

There was a time in my life when I referred to the word Vulnerable as “The V Word”. To me, it was a bad word, a word to fear and do everything I could to overcome and suppress it. I did not allow myself to be Vulnerable, because to me it meant weakness and a lack of stoicism. I was taught to be tough in the face of what life threw at me, and was told to never, ever let them see you sweat or show fear.

As I grew, I built a wall around myself and thought I could hide my Vulnerabilities behind it so no one would see them….and I would not be “found out”. I thought I could hold them close, then let myself feel them when I was alone. Those moments when I allowed my emotions to surface were always spent in solitude, well away from others, because I did not feel comfortable showing my Vulnerable side. I thought I was protecting myself, and doing what was best for me, and keeping myself from the pain and hurt that life can bring. I thought it was good to always be tough and strong and at least look like I was handling everything, good or bad, with strength and finesse. Though many times I was really faking that and was only “showing” for the people around me.

Then I grew up and grew wiser and discovered the real truth.

And I realized that, Vulnerable is not a bad word, in fact, it is a beautiful word that opens the door to life and all the amazing things we can receive from it. If we do not allow ourselves to be open or Vulnerable than we are keeping the good things in life out as well as the bad. And, we are meant to experience both. For, how else do we grow and achieve what we want out of life? I know, I know! I can hear you saying “but if I am Vulnerable, then I can be hurt”. But, we need to ask ourselves truthfully, and be completely honest, do we really believe we can get through life without being hurt at some point, or at all? And I know for myself, some of the greatest lessons I have learned, and the greatest self-growth I have had, has come from the greatest hurt I have experienced.

If we stay within the walls we build around our Vulnerabilities, we may think we keep ourselves hidden from being hurt, but the truth is, we cannot protect ourselves completely from what is natural to life. And, in that hiding, we also keep from all the good things that want to come our way. We have to be open to receive and allow the balance of Vulnerable vs. Strength to show us what our life is really about.

Be brave enough to open the door to being Vulnerable, and know that your Wiser Self is always there to protect you and guide you as you experience both sides of life, learn from it, grow from it, and then welcome the wonderful things the universe has to bring you.

Blessings!

8 comments on “A Vulnerable Self

  1. Hi Mardrag & Everyone!

    Vulnerable vs. Strength – In the second to last paragraph, you mention the balance between these two paradigms. (Actually you speak of this idea throughout today’s blog, if I interpreted it correctly). Ya know, this is so true. I thought about this for the better part of the morning…perhaps this balance is more important than I thought.

    I am so sorry that you needed to build a wall around your heart – I’m sorry that anything/one hurt you that bad. But you’re not alone. Gosh, I know I’ve been hurt that bad also. I’m glad it’s in the past now – -for both of us!

    Today was a brillant blog. Thank you. And thanks for sharing with us a little about how you felt about The V word. Which, btw, I totally get. I still feel uneasy when I feel vulnerable.

    • Hiya Boobah……thanks for your kind words. I think all of us can say we were hurt at some point in life and felt like building walls. Then I went on a self-exploration and healing mission and learned many things about myself, healed, and am now able to balance being vulnerable and strong. Though at times, one will always weigh in over the other, the trick is to learn how to get back to the balance.

      Neither being completely open or completely closed is a good way to live….its that balance we strive for that works!

      Hope your day is going well! HUGS to you!

      • That’s why I appreciate you so much – you are passing on what you have learned to help others. I know it helps me! I truly enjoy your blog and I learn a lot. I have written about my anxiety a few times and I am feeling less anxious these days – your thoughts help me and I am grateful.
        oxoxox

        Oh! I have hoping you get that rain that you need, btw! Maybe we should do a rain dance at your party this weekend before we start the old movie marathon?? 😉

      • Thanks for your sweet words Boobah. You are truly a gem! And I am so glad this place helps you….that means it and I are serving our purpose.

        No rain yet….second time in a month they forecast rain and it has not come. Clouds are gone now….I hope this doesn’t mean a long hot summer. 😦

        Hugs!

  2. Hi Boo and Mar – i hope you are doing well. Been busy and am about to go to sleep. I am actually past my bed time 😛 tomorrow is Friday! I still cant be all excited, i still need to get through it. I am still glad though 🙂

    Have a good night and sweet dreams. I hope to catch up or at least post at a Better hour this weekend.
    Cali

Leave a Reply

