The Mystery of Intuition

 

“Intuition is seeing with the soul.”   ~ Dean Koontz

“I believe in intuitions and inspirations…I sometimes FEEL that I am right. I do not KNOW that I am.”  ~ Albert Einstein

“Don’t try to comprehend with your mind. Your minds are very limited. Use your intuition.”  ~ Madeleine L’Engle

“Intuition is always right in at least two important ways: It is always in response to something and it always has your best interest at heart.”   ~ Gavin de Becker

“Come from the heart, the true heart, not the head. When in doubt, choose the heart. This does not mean to deny your own experiences and that which you have empirically learned through the years. It means to trust your self to integrate intuition and experience. There is a balance, a harmony to be nurtured, between the head and the heart. When the intuition rings clear and true, loving impulses are favored.”  ~ Brian L. Weiss

“Intuition is a sense of knowing how to act spontaneously, without needing to know why.”  ~ Sylvia Clare

“Our bodies have five senses: touch, smell, taste, sight, hearing. But not to be overlooked are the senses of our souls: intuition, peace, foresight, trust, empathy. The differences between people lie in their use of these senses; most people don’t know anything about the inner senses while a few people rely on them just as they rely on their physical senses, and in fact probably even more.”  ~ C. JoyBell C.

from the Desk of MarDrag:

Have you ever been talking to someone, reading something, or just thinking about something, and you get a very “heavy” feeling in the pit of your belly, like something is being pulled around in there? There is a feeling that something is churning, as if you might have eaten something that didn’t set quite right, but you know you are not going to get sick. Or perhaps you have felt the tiny hairs at the nape of your neck stand on end when you have heard or realized something. Life’s “aha” moments come with a sprinkling of shivers or chills that race up the spine or converge up and down our arms. And with all of these….we have this knowingness that is insistent that we do not ignore it, that we give it attention and hear it’s voice. Even if we discard its message, or take no heed of it, the feeling was most definitely still there, and we were aware that it was, in fact, our Intuition.

Taking, once again, my dusty but trusty Oxford American Dictionary from it’s noble place on my desk, I open, in truth, directly to the place that has the definition of Intuition printed on it’s page. It would seem, then, that it would like to be known.

The definition reads:

Intuition – n. “the power of knowing or understanding something immediately without reasoning or being taught; a thing that one knows or considers, likely from instinctive feeling rather than conscious reasoning; the power or faculty of attaining to direct knowledge or cognition without evident rational thought and inference.”

So, Intuition is that “thing we know” without having had a rational explanation for it or having had a factual, conscious, or scientific justification or rationalization to prove it. A word repeated in the above definition also stands out…reasoning. Or a lack thereof.

Because Intuition…is a Feeling.

It is emotionally based, but is no less profound, correct or factual than the reasoning that comes from the conscious mind. We can talk ourselves around a subject with our conscious mind giving ourselves all manner of proof, reasons, information or details as to why something is what it is, or we should do something that we might be hesitating about….and we can convince ourselves of the rightness of our thought or action based on these consciously present things….but, what do we Feel about it. And if that Feeling is directing us in another, even opposite direction, than we must at least stop….and listen to that Intuitive voice. At the very least, give it its due attention to hear it out, and give credence to it’s right to be heard.

The Conscious mind is not always right, for we can make up some very good and articulate evidence that seems sound with our Conscious mind….but we do not make up our Feelings. They come to us, and are therefore pure and true, and can be trusted.

Now ask yourself, how many times you “had a feeling”, and it was right on the mark. Or you did one thing knowing you should have done another, and things went askew. Intuition comes from the Sub-Conscious, which needs no proof to know what it knows, as the Conscious mind demands. Where Intuition comes from or gets its voice may be a bit of a mystery, but its rightfulness is not.

So listen to that Intuitive voice. Allow it to have greater volume in your life. Practice listening to it, ask it questions and listen to the answers. Then make your life decisions from the choice of having that “extra” voice, with its innate knowledge, to guide you. Then you will be believing in yourself in no time and saying, “I knew it”!

Blessings!

6 comments on “The Mystery of Intuition

  1. Great blog!!!!! Love this!

    I admit that I need to work on listening to what my intuition tells me. It’s amazing that when I do, I say exactly what you wrote in the last sentence – I KNEW IT! But I notice I fight my intuition all the time. It’s a weird conundrum – I want to trust “my gut” but like you wrote – I make up all sorts of complex, complcated reasons that I think are logical and provide evidense for why I shouldn’t listen to ‘that feeling’.

    This is a very interesting blog. I will re-vist this subject a few times, I’m sure. I love learning about stuff like this!

    Thanks Mardrag!!!
    oxox

    • Morning Boobah! It is that ole’ conscious mind, with the ego voice behind it, that keeps telling us not to listen to our Intuition and listen to them. We can be so good at coming up with reasons and evidence that keeps us spinning until the “intuitive moment” is over. But, once we become aware of this, it just takes a little practice to start trusting that Intuitive voice. Keep it up!

      Hope you are digging out of the snow and doing ok. I am so glad for you that your power did not go out! And that the kitties are having fun!

      Have a great day sweetie! 🙂

      • I hate that I always forget to begin my posts with ‘Good Morning’…it’s rude of me.
        So……….

        Good Morning Mardrag! 😀 Hope you had a restful sleep and that your day looks bright!

        Yes re: that tricky little ego that pushes my conscious mind to the forefront of my thoughts! Grrrr. I have come up with some very believable whoppers that I fully trust at the time. So crazy! Sometimes it feels like I am willing to believe anything my ego tells me rather than believe my intuition!

        I can see that it takes practice. I am working on it. It’s not easy because I find that I need a lot of self awareness. Almost like I have to ‘catch’ the bad thought before it runs amok. Then re-direct it quickly into a positive thought. Sometimes I just remind myself to stay in the moment.

        Thanks for your well wishes about the snow. We are as shoveled out as we are gonna get at this point! LOL. My hubby had to shovel us out and his office – so he is done! But, yes, the cats continue to make me laugh out loud. I think they think the paths were shoveled just for them! They keep going around and around, acting like its the most fun they have ever had. It’s so cute because the wall of snow is taller than they are so they can’t see where they are going. Frankie, my awesome little man, stands like a meerkat to see over the wall of snow. I’m trying to catch it on video because it’s hysterical!!

        Any rain yet in your neck of the woods?? Gosh, I hope you get some soon!!

        oxox

      • That’s ok Boo…I know you mean Good Morning! And LOL on the cats….don’t forget it is their house and they just let you live there. All things you do are for their amusement! I love that about cats! And the visuals from your descriptions are great. Send pics if you can! 🙂

        Poor hubs with all that digging of snow. Hope he gets a day of rest today. And no, we did not get any rain yet….not sure it will come. Yesterday was beautiful tho….huge fluffy white clouds scudding across a blue sky all day. Loved it, but would like some moisture soon as my tail can catch fire down here! 😉

        Stay in the moment today as much as you can and have a beautiful day! HUGS!!

  2. Hey MarDrag, I’d love to send you some of our rain. We’ve had more than enough and there’s a storm right around the corner, with tornado watches! AARRGGHH!!!
    I loved this post. I’ve had times when I argued with myself – i.e. rationalized – about those feelings and my intuition, and found that the results were not as I’d hoped they’d be. You’re so right when it comes to trusting those feelings we have, good and bad. The “aha” moments can save us a lot of wasted time and energy.
    Thank you for another terrific post.

    • Oh Empress…..sorry about the rain! We seem to be the only ones without weather right now…but I knock on wood saying that because I don’t want to jinx us into anything! We could use some of your moisture tho! Hang in there…and stay safe from tornadoes. Sending up prayers and Love & Light to you for protection.

      Glad you liked the post. I think we can all relate to not listening to our Intuitions and then thinking we should have. Hindsight, I think it is called. LOL!

      Hugs to you dear lady!

Leave a Reply

