An Affirmation

 

I have a set of affirmation cards called “The Gifts” by Amy Zerner and Monte Farber. I pull one frequently to remind me of what my focus of thought should be for the day. Sometimes our random thoughts can go down long winding roads and get lost in worries and anticipations that we can get caught up in and unnerve us.

The card I picked today was titled, “The New” and the affirmation is:

“I HAVE FAITH IN THE FUTURE I CANNOT SEE.”

The message is: “Use this gift when you are worried or anxious. These feelings are usually caused by our attachment to either a particular outcome or to wanting to know exactly how things are going to turn out. But, we have the power to change our future. How many of your past worries never came to pass?”

It is sometimes difficult to be in the midst of a situation, or anticipate our future and not think about what will happen. But this affirmation is so true in that, we cannot be attached to a certain outcome. What is meant to happen, will still happen whether we worry about it or not. And what if we attach to what we think the outcome should be….and there is an even better one that is meant to come about? So we have worried for nothing and blocked up the energy flow. This, of course, does not imply not taking action when necessary or if you know an action will contribute to making the outcome more positive.

But, as the affirmation says….how many past worries have actually come to pass?

Only A Thought

And I will ask one more question. How many of those worries have turned into something unexpectedly greater than we imagined?

We like to know how things are going to turn out, but if we actually did know…then the meaning of our lives would diminish. All the lessons, experiences and growth would turn to dust, and we would never have anything to look forward to, and we would also have to relinquish our power to change things in our lives because the outcome was already known. So, why try?

So, have faith in your life, in your self, and the gifts you have that make up your character and existence. Have trust in your path, and make your intention to live that path to the fullest and best you possibly can, stay in the present, and don’t be anxious about the outcome before it’s ready to come out..……and the future will rise up to meet you.

Worthy Cat

Blessings!

12 comments on “An Affirmation

  1. Oh Mardrag! Excellent post! It’s so true – “How many of your past worries never came to pass?” This is a great question that made me pause and think. I can worry like it’s my full time job. All that does is exhaust me and motionless. I have been trying reassure myself that even IF my fears come to pass, I can and will handle it. This has helped me feel empowered.

    *waves* Hi Everyone! I missed posting lately – real life had other plans for me. I had a weird sinus thing for what felt like forever – this little virus sure had some staying power. Also, I have been running around like a nut trying to rid our house of fleas! Our Vet told us that the flea situation here in eastern Long Island has been one of the worst in many years. The ticks were really bad also – I was bitten by deer ticks 10 times! 10!!! Isn’t that outrageous?! Thats why we got Guniea hens. They eat ticks and other bugs. Let me tell ya – those birds really helped. I guess they don’t eat fleas though. Daggnabbit. Then I discovered we had a mouse family move in with us! I am now trying to get rid of Mr. Mouse and his family. Whats even more bonkers is that I have cats and they are doing nothing to help me out! Bums. Lol.

    Hope all is well with everyone!

    • Boobah!!!! I have been thinking about you and hoping all was well! You have been missed! I am glad to hear from you as you have been on my mind this entire week.

      And no wonder….goodness sweetie, you have been going through it! I hope you are over the virus and the creatures are leaving you alone. Cats not chasing mice?!? What, did they think they just get to live there and nap? LOL! (I am a cat lover and aware of their independent streak!) I will send positive energy that everything gets cleared up and soon!

      Having said that….no wonder you worry! LOL! BUT, this affirmation was so amazing because, when we ask ourselves that question about how many worries actually come true….the average is actually low. Which means…if we stop worrying so much and using up our energy that way…we will have far more energy to spend on the stuff that actually DOES happen. Right?

      AND, if the statement is true that what we think we create…then are we creating all our worries to come true if we spend all that energy on them?

      Things that make you go hmmmmm! 🙂

      So glad you stopped by. Hope you won’t be away so long again! Hugs and Blessings!

  2. Oh man…I just wrote a post and it disappeared!! Dang it!

    I missed you and posting here! But I did read every one of your posts. You are a very special person, Mardrag, and your blog truly reflects that.

    I have put a lot of thought into what you mentioned above. Self fulfilling prophecy. I often wonder if because I worry about XYZ, could I be manifesting XYZ? So, lately I have been trying to think about my strengths and capabilities instead of my fears/concerns. I think I am trying to change my thinking by focusing on positives. Maybe by trying to faith in my abilitie is my way of having faith in my unknown future?

    But right now, its hard to have faith in anything after what happened in CT today. Things like this are just horrible and senseless.

    • I so agree Boobah! I have spent the day in disbelief and sorrow. And a feeling of hopelessness. How many more of these things need to happen before we wake up? 😦

      But about you….it is great to hear that you are thinking about redirecting your thoughts and energy. That is the first step. The more you change a negative thought for a positive one, the more you retrain your mind to go there on its own. It takes a little time, so keep at it. After all, you have been thinking one way for a long time, so give yourself a chance to change that.

      Have faith in yourself and you will be able to handle your life, come what may. I believe in you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

