On Gratitude

 

“Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet.”  ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

“Acknowledging the good that you already have in your life is the foundation for all abundance.”  ~ Eckhart Tolle

“Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.”  ~ Epicurus

“Forget yesterday – it has already forgotten you. Don’t sweat tomorrow – you haven’t even met. Instead, open your eyes and your heart to a truly precious gift – today.” ~ Steve Maraboli

“You pray in your distress and in your need; would that you might pray also in the fullness of your joy and in your days of abundance.”  ~ Kahlil Gibran

“Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.” ~ Marcus Tullius Cicero

“We should certainly count our blessings, but we should also make our blessings count.” ~ Neal A. Maxwell

from the Desk of MarDrag:

Many days, we may find it difficult to navigate through tough jobs, problems, fatigue and obligations. Our minds are full of all the things that need to be handled and how we are going to do that, or sometimes, simply how will we get through this day. So it is hard to find a moment to be grateful, when there may be much that is not hopeful.

But, as Eckhart Tolle says in his quote above, we must try to find a way to acknowledge that which we already have in our lives to be grateful for, even at our most difficult moments. Because, if we look closely, we are always able to find at least one (or more) thing(s) that are working, or people and things that are in our lives that make our lives good or better. If we focus on those things, and make our blessings count, then we build a foundation on which abundance can emerge. If we forget to be grateful for what we do have, then nothing that comes to us will ever be good enough.

There is always a positive element even to a difficulty. Focusing on the positive side of things, and being grateful for that, brings more positive energy to us and helps us to remain calm and balanced in adversity. What we focus on is what persists, so having gratitude will bring us (and show us) more to be grateful for.

In the morning of each day, before any other prayer, say a prayer of gratitude for something, even if it is just that you woke up and have an opportunity to make it a better day. Find the positive side of a difficulty, and be grateful that you had the wisdom to see it.

If your life is all wonderful….that is great too…..but be sure to offer a prayer of gratitude that all your dreams have come true. Acknowledge you appreciate the beauty of your life!

Today (and everyday), I offer a prayer of gratitude for all of you that come to visit my blog and find something worthwhile or comforting here. You are all very special to me, and I am glad that, when I reach out with my words, you find them, and the love in the comments that you give back to me fills my life with warmth and peace. It is my purpose, and I am grateful that I have the opportunity to write these pages, and I am grateful that you come to read them. YOU are all awesome!! And I have great love for you!

Thank you for stopping by!

Hugs and Blessings!

4 comments on “On Gratitude

  1. Yes! We are very grateful for YOU MarDrag! I don’t comment often enough but I do read and appreciate.

    Love the post on gratitude, it’s been on my mind lately. I found gratitude (surprisingly) through my husbands death.

    I am so grateful –
    That he didn’t suffer
    That we had time to say goodbye
    That his last years were his happiest
    That I had those WONDERFUL years with him
    That I never said an unkind word to him
    That I can look forward to being reunited with him

    I could go on but you get the picture 😉

Leave a Reply

