Chains of Our Own Making

 

I was going through some notebooks and old writings yesterday, looking for something, and I happened on one of the books of my own poetry, many pages written throughout the years. I started flipping through it and wandering down the lane of memories that it evoked in my mind. Then, I came across one that had always been a favorite, because it was so raw, so intimate, but every person, every being could relate to its sentiment. I rarely share my poetry, but you are all so special to me, and I already share my deepest thoughts with you, so I decided to print this one in the blog today. I hope you don’t mind!

It speaks to the thoughts and actions that we wrap around ourselves that we cannot, for some reason, see they hinder or hurt us, or keep us from moving forward. Often, the chains that hold us down are ones of our own making.

Dear Self

Oh dear

Dear self

What chains have I wrapped round thee

Twisted

Bound thee from thy freedom

Holding thee

Lamenting thy true nature

As I stutter and stumble

For the causing of those chains

In rapt attention to their lot

In feverish passion to unravel their mystery

Near forgetting the freedom

Kept within

Haplessly leaving thee bound

from the Desk of MarDrag:

When we become so enamored with the problems, stress and discontent that is in our lives, those things become like chains that we wrap around us, holding us tense and rigid…and so, we become enamored with the chains themselves, frantically trying to figure out what they are and why they are there, or how to unlock them. And while we fixate on those chains, we forget that within those chains is our freedom and that, at some point, we allowed them to wrap around and hinder us.

At any given moment, we have the power to choose to discard them and free ourselves from that which we have decided we are bound by. We made them, or we allowed them….so we can unlock them. We ALWAYS have a choice….no matter how out of our realm of comfort it may seem….we nevertheless always have the freedom to make another choice.

Take a look at the chains tethered around you today and ponder at the choice that you might make to discard them. Choices are always abundant. Moving to Hawaii or Africa or some exotic place is a choice. You may not make that choice, but it is, nevertheless, an option that is there, as are so many other options available.

Sometimes, we do have to step out of our comfort zone in order to step out of the chains. And most of the time, it is the best thing we ever did for ourselves….because we release ourselves and set our souls free.

Blessings!

13 comments on “Chains of Our Own Making

      • …and i am taking this seeiously also, I cant let this mood stay with me too long. I dont want it to turn permanent.

        I must fo back to my hopeful, happy, grateful kind of girl 🙂

        Thanks again, reading your blog is definitely helping me get on track 🙂

      • I am so glad this is helping you Cali! I answered your email too. Hang in there…let yourself feel and don’t rush the process. You are still the happy hopeful you, just going through a needed process!

        I am here for and glad the blog is too! 🙂

  1. No worries Cali! I get what you meant. And sometimes, it is hardest for us to give ourselves some space & time to handle things, because we are under pressure to “perform” or be “ok”. Sometimes, we are just not ok, but that doesn’t mean we never will be again. We are human and have feelings. We are meant to feel them. Then we can move on and heal, grow and succeed in something else.

    Hugs!

    • Thank you so much RealHousewifeVA! I see you at the other blog too and love your comments. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

